8 foods you didn’t know were vegan

Being vegan can be challenging since so much of our food contains animal products of some sort. Nevertheless, a vegan diet doesn’t have to consist solely of fruit and vegetables, there are actually plenty of sweet and savoury treats you wouldn’t think were vegan-friendly.

If you have recently turned vegan, then we hope our list will help you find at least some of your favourites that are still suitable for your cupboards and fridge.  

1. Oreos.

This may come as a surprise. You may think that the cream between the biscuits is made with milk but it´s not. Originally the biscuits were produced using milk powder to make the cream but fortunately they changed the recipe and made the cookies vegan-friendly.


2. Smokey bacon flavoured Pringles.

Pringles are one of the most popular crisps around the world and they are vegan. There are many different flavours and a lot of them are vegan, even the bacon flavoured one. These crisps aren´t made with real bacon.

3. Ritz Crackers are vegan-friendly

These crackers have a buttery taste, but it´s not because of butter. They don´t contain any dairy products and even the bacon flavoured Ritz Crackers are vegan.

4. Unfrosted strawberry Pop-Tarts.

Pop-Tarts are a common breakfast in the USA. You can buy them at any store, and they are extremely easy to make. The frosting on Pop-Tarts contains dairy, but some unfrosted varieties are okay. There are actually three unfrosted flavours of Pop-Tarts that are vegan: blueberry, strawberry and brown sugar- cinnamon.

5. Kellogg’s Corn Flakes.

This cereal and many other famous cereals like Choco Flakes or Weetabix crispy minis are vegan. They are ideal for breakfast and don´t taste any different if you have them with normal or almond, soya milk.

6. Chocolate Lindt Excellence 79% and 85% cacao.

Vegans can´t eat milk chocolate but many high-quality dark chocolates aren´t made with animal products. That´s why vegans need to look for chocolate with a cacao content of 50% or more. Lindt Excellence is a great example of vegan-friendly chocolate because they offer a variety of products with high cacao content.

7. Sweets from IKEA.

Sweets are usually made with gelatine and that´s an animal product. Gelatine is a mixture of peptides and proteins extracted from the skin and bones of animals. Fortunately, in IKEA you can buy sweets that aren´t made with gelatine but with fruit or vegetable juice. Now IKEA also offers a vegan version of its classic meatballs. Made with chickpeas, green peas, kale, corn, and peppers.

8. Magnum vegan ice cream.

Magnum offers vegan ice cream in two flavours: the original vanilla flavour and the peanut flavour. This vanilla ice cream is made from coconut oil and pea protein and is dipped in Belgian chocolate made from ethically sourced cocoa beans.  

These eight products are just an example because there are many more vegan options you can find at stores. A lot of crisps, sweets and snacks are vegan but that doesn’t mean they are healthy. Which is why being a vegan isn’t a synonym for being healthy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *